Bad Luck vs. No Luck

Have you ever heard the saying “If it wasn’t for bad luck I would have no luck at all”? This is how I feel about my car right now. I have a 2002 Honda Accord and I love her. She has over 260,000 well earned miles and up until last September she ran fine but then I took her in for a Smog test and that was where the problems started.

She passed the smog no problems but the mechanic, someone my father in law trusted so I went there, found several leaks and made it sound like the car would disintegrate if I didn’t get them fixed. I talked with the hubby and we decided to get them fixed. $1500 later I pick up my car and now there are other issues. My power steering was make a horrible noise and was fighting me plus the idle was way off. So I took it back up there because the power steering was part of the $1500 I had fixed and of course it wasn’t anything they did but there was a new list of things that needed to be fixed. Huh?? Didn’t you just fix all that was wrong?? Well, I decided to live with the issues for a while as we didn’t have the money and then she started to overheat.

At this point I am pissed because I felt like the repair shop I took her to screwed me so we took her somewhere else and had her checked out. They told us that it looked like someone stepped on the radiator!! Oh and the power steering that was replaced with a new part but still didn’t work, that would be because they tried to repair it, did a crap job and didn’t put the new part I paid for in her. Ok, so we get the radiator fixed, still dealing with the power steering because we still don’t really have the money but I did march my happy butt over to the other repair shop and got my money back for the part.

So all is good for a while until she needs her oil changed and they notice there is a hole in my radiator hose. Ok, well I can’t go around with a hole in that so go ahead and fix it. Later that day she starts to over heat again. Ugh!!! Pulling my freaking hair out OMG!!! I call a friend of mine since it is to late to take her to a shop and he discovers a hole in the heater hose. Easy fix he says but I need to do it at my uncles shop. Ok, we go the next day and she got so hot and mad before I got there I was almost I tears afraid she would seize! He fixes my heater hose no biggie and I have a sigh of relief.

Now I understand that she is old and there is going to be a lot of extra maintaining for instance the brakes need to be replaced again and so do the tires but those things all take money, money we don’t have. Well she has decided to take matters in her own hands one piece at a time this time it was my front passenger tire that decided to go flat about 5 minutes after every tire store in the universe has closed for day. 😦

I am so frustrated that everything has decided to go wrong with her one after another and I still haven’t gotten the power steering fixed!!

About Kat

I am a youngish mother of two beautiful children and wife to a wonderful husband. I am happily back in my glorious California and excited about our new start new. Since I am relatively new to the blogging thing so bear with me but hey if you like some of what I say share and share often.
This entry was posted in ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Bad Luck vs. No Luck

  1. I’m sorry about all of your bad luck with your vehicle. Car problems are the worst! I hate dealing with mechanics, because I’m always worried I’ll get screwed over. :/ I hope nothing else happens to it.

Leave a Reply

