Grade Frustration

My daughter, Alexzandria, is 12 and will be turning 13 in about a month. She is also in the 8th grade which is a year ahead for her age. She is über smart, not a genius, but really stinking smart. So smart that she could be getting straight A’s with very little effort. I say “could” because currently she is hanging in there with 3 C’s, 2 B’s, and sadly only one A. This frustrates me because she pretty much refuses to do her homework. She aces most of her tests but the homework is killing her grades. Which we learned last year could cause her to fail a class. I often feel like I am failing her as a parent but I know that I have done everything in my power to help her. It unfortunately isn’t going to change unless she is ready for it. I just hope that it will happen before high school starts because that is a whole other pool full of sharks.

About Kat

I am a youngish mother of two beautiful children and wife to a wonderful husband. I am happily back in my glorious California and excited about our new start new. Since I am relatively new to the blogging thing so bear with me but hey if you like some of what I say share and share often.
This entry was posted in family, Kid Crazies, NaBloPoMo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Grade Frustration

  1. Will Hayes says:

    My 12 year old daughter does her homework without fail but it is her procrastination with studying for tests that really has me struggling. If I am not constantly on her case about studying and if I don’t physically study with her then she won’t do it and she will fail the test. I want her to be more “in charge” of her workload but sadly, if I’m not as involved as I am then she would fail. I feel that by being so involved that she won’t learn independence with her school obligations but for now, I just want her to pass.

  2. I know how you feel, only from her perspective. I was a chronic underachiever and my lack of willingness to do homework really hit my grades hard. (Like right now– I’m supposed to be writing a four-page paper that’s due Thursday!) Those bad grades were a huge reason I joined the Army in the first place (didn’t have the grades for a full-boat scholarship; no one in my family had the credit to cosign student loans with me…)

Leave a Reply

